Eduardo Souto de Moura Piranesi Prix de Rome for Lifetime Achievement

Eduardo Souto de Moura, David Chipperfield, Rafael Moneo, Yoshio Taniguchi, Peter Eisenman, Bernard Tschumi,

Luis Ferreira Alves,

Naples, Milan, Rome,

Hotel, underground,

Prize, Piranesi Prix de Rome,

On November 22, 2016 it was announced that the prestigious award for classic achievement in architecture, the 2017 Piranesi Prix de Rome for Lifetime Achievement, would be presented to 2011 Pritzker Prize winner Eduardo Souto de Moura on March 24, 2017.

Eduardo Souto de Moura Piranesi Prix de Rome for Lifetime Achievement

The 2017 Piranesi Prix de Rome for Lifetime Achievement will be awarded to architect Eduardo Souto de Moura, winner of the 2011 Pritzker Prize, the equivalent of a Nobel Prize for Architecture.

The Scientific Committee of the Piranesi Prix de Rome, in partnership with the Order of Architects, Landscape Architects, Planners and Conservation Workers of the City and Province of Rome and Politecnico di Milano’s Mantua campus, announced the winner on November 22, 2016. The award will be presented on March 24, 2017 at the end of the Portuguese architect’s lectio magistralis at Casa dell’Architettura – Acquario Romano in Rome about his career in architecture, which began in the late 1970s, when he worked with Álvaro Siza and was his assistant professor in the Faculty of Architecture of Porto University.

We mark the occasion by looking at some of the best-known projects by Eduardo Souto de Moura covered in the pages of Floornature: Braga city stadium (2000-2004); la Casa das Historias Paula Rego in Cascais (2005-2009), and, most recently, Hotel and Catering School a Portalegre, House D6 3, Ponte de Lima and, in Italy, a metro station in Naples designed with Álvaro Siza.

Souto de Moura has been presented with numerous awards and honours by institutions and organisations all over the world, including the 2011 Pritzker Prize, the 2001 Heinrich-Tessenow Gold Medal and the 2013 Wolf Prize for the arts.
The Piranesi Prix de Rome for Lifetime Achievement has in the past been awarded to architects Rafael Moneo, Guido Canali, David Chipperfield, Peter Eisenman, Josè Ignacio Linazasoro, Bernard Tschumi and Yoshio Taniguchi.

(Agnese Bifulco)

Photos © Luis Ferreira Alves


Stay in touch with the protagonists of architecture, Subscribe to the Floornature Newsletter