Awaiting the winner of the EU MIES AWARD 2017

Rudy Ricciotti, Henning Larsen Architects, NL Architects + XVW architectuur, BBGK Architekci, Alison Brooks Architects,

Brussels, London, Amsterdam, Madrid,

Academy, Bar,


The winner of the EU MIES AWARD 2017 and the winner of the Special Mention for an Emerging Architect will be announced in Brussels on 16th May. Floornature highlights the finalists and winners of the previous edition.

Awaiting the winner of the EU MIES AWARD 2017

The>Eu Mies Award is a biennial award for recent architecture created in Europe in the two years preceding the prize. It was started in 1987 by theMies van der Rohe Foundation and, since 2001, theEu Mies Award has become the official architecture prize of theEuropean Union, together with a Special Mention for an “Emerging Architect”, reserved for an architect under 40.

The winners of the last editions of the prize were:
- in 2013 Batteríid Architects, Henning Larsen Architects and Studio Olafur Eliasson creators of Harpa, the Reykjavik Concert Hall and Conference Centre, with special mention for the Nave De Música Matadero (Red Bull Music Academy) in Madrid, by Langarita-Navarro Arquitectos;
- in 2015 Barozzi/Veiga for the Szczecin Philharmonic Hall (Poland) and special mention for Casa Luz in Cilleros, by ARQUITECTURA -G.

The winner of the 2017 edition will be chosen by the jury from five finalists and announced on 16th May. The designs have been presented in the pages of Floornature over the last five weeks: Ely Court by Alison Brooks Architects (London), the Katyn Museum by BBGK Architekci (Warsaw), Kannikegårdend by Lundgaard & Tranberg (Ribe), deFlat Kleiburg by NL Architects + XVW architectuur (Amsterdam) and the Rivesaltes Memorial Museum by architect Rudy Ricciotti.

The awards ceremony will take place on 26th May 2017 at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona and will include conferences and talks, as well as the opening of a travelling exhibition featuring the prize-winning designs and finalists.


Stay in touch with the protagonists of architecture, Subscribe to the Floornature Newsletter