Ordinary yet heroic buildings, is how Stephen Bates describes the five finalists for the 2017 European Union Mies van der Rohe Prize for Contemporary Architecture.

Finalists for the 2017 Mies van der Rohe Prize

The finalists for the 2017 European Union Mies van der Rohe Prize for Contemporary Architecture were announced on February 15.
Stephen Bates, the architect who chaired the jury, Malgorzata Omilanowska, member of the jury and former Culture Minister in Poland, and Anna Ramos, director of Fundació Mies van der Rohe, presented the five finalists, emphasising that in relation to issues of relevance today, the jury was particularly looking for socially useful projects, new constructions in historic city centres, memory and a focus on context. Summed up in Stephen Bates’ words: "Our instincts could be summed up by the words of Peter Smithson: ‘Things need to be ordinary and heroic at the same time.’ We were looking for an ordinariness whose understated lyricism is full of potential".

The jury will visit the five buildings in the month of April and announce the winner on May 16. The awards ceremony will be held at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona on May 26, and, for the first time, the finalist and winning projects in the 2017 Mies van der Rohe Award and Emerging Architect Award will be open to the public May 20 through 28.

The five finalists are:

Kannikegården, Ribe, DK
Studio: Lundgaard &Tranberg Architects, Copenaghen
Architects: LeneTranberg (DK) e Boje Lundgaard (DK)
Photos: Anders Sune Berg

Ely Court, London, UK
Studio: Alison Brooks Architects, London
Architect: Alison Brooks (UK)
Photos: Paul Riddle

deFlatKleiburg, Amsterdam, NL
Studios: NL Architects e XVW architectuur, Amsterdam
Architect: Walter van Dijk (NL) e Xander Vermeulen Windsant (NL)
Photos: Stijn Spoelstra

Rivesaltes Memorial Museum, Rivesaltes/Ribesaltes, FR
Studio: Rudy Ricciotti, Bandol
Architect: Rudy Ricciotti (FR)
Photos: Kevin Dolmaire

Katyn Museum, Warsaw, PL
Studio: BBGK Architekci, Warsaw
Architect: Jan Belina-Brzozowski (PL) e Konrad Grabowiecki (PL)
Photos: Juliusz Sokolowski

(Agnese Bifulco)