20 years of RIBA Stirling Prize Best of week

Allford Hall Monaghan Morris, Niall McLaughlin Architects, Heneghan Peng, Haworth Tompkins, Zaha Hadid Architects,


Academy, University, Sport & Wellness, Housing,


RIBA’s famous Stirling Prize is 20 years old, and while awaiting announcement of the winner for 2015 on October 15, this week’s best of the week feature looks at this year’s six finalists and past winners presented in Floornature.

20 years of RIBA Stirling Prize Best of week

Established in 1996 as a new evolution of an older prize (The Building of the Year Award), the famous prize awarded annually by RIBA is now twenty years old. The prize is named after British architect James Stirling, whose influence on subsequent architecture is considered more important than his built works. The Stirling Prize is awarded after a painstaking selection process with three different juries for assignment of the regional and national awards and the Stirling Prize.

We have often presented winners of the award in Floornature, including Zaha Hadid Architects in 2010 and 2011 for Maxxi in Rome and Evelyn Grace Academy in Brixton, respectively, Astley Castle, Warwickshire by Witherford Watson Mann Architects in 2013, and Liverpool’s Everyman Theatre by Haworth Tompkins in 2014.
Over the past few weeks we have been taking a look at the finalists in the 2015 edition:
Burntwood School by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
Darbishire Place by Niall McLaughlin Architects
Maggie's Lanarkshire by Reiach and Hall Architects
Neo Bankside by Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners
University Of Greenwich Stockwell Street Building by Heneghan Peng Architects
The Whitworth, University Of Manchester by MUMA

(Agnese Bifulco)

Images courtesy of RIBA