Winners of the 2021 AIANY Design Awards

Pei Cobb Freed & Partners, Productora, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP, Young & Ayata, Ballman Khapalova, Christoff:Finio Architecture, BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group, nARCHITECTS, Andrew Berman, Ikon.5 Architects, Michielli + Wyetzner Architects, Harrison Atelier, EID Architecture, Weiss/Manfredi, WORKac, Atelier Alter Architects, atelierjun,

New York, USA,

Architecture and Culture,


AIA New York’s annual Design Awards program recognises outstanding architectural design by AIA New York members. This year’s jury met online to select the winners in four of the five categories: Architecture, Interiors, Projects, and Urban Design. No awards were given this year in the Sustainability category.

  1. Blog
  2. News
  3. Winners of the 2021 AIANY Design Awards

Winners of the 2021 AIANY Design Awards The AIANY year began with the announcement of the winners in its 2021 AIANY Design Awards.
AIA New York’s annual Design Awards program recognises outstanding architectural design by AIA New York members, New York City-based architects in any location, and work in New York City by architects worldwide. Interestingly, this year’s awards were only given in four categories: Architecture, Interior, Projects, and Urban Design. The jury members did not give any awards in the Sustainability category, instead opting to make it a requirement for an honor award. Indeed, some of the projects submitted for the Sustainability category were moved to other categories for consideration. This emphasises the importance of sustainable choices in the world of architecture as the foundation for every design.
So let’s look at the winners in the Architecture category. We’ll be taking a closer look in a dedicated article at the Best in Competition winner, Newark Housing Authority Training Recreation Education Center (TREC), selected as the recipient of this unique recognition from the Honor Award winners across all the categories. In the Architecture category, these were Musée Atelier Audemars Piguet y BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group; Muller Illien Landschaftsarchitekten (link), Bennington College Commons Renovation by Christoff:Finio Architecture and Reed Hilderbrand, and the Jones Beach Energy & Nature Center by nARCHITECTS, which stands out as a newly constructed landscape, reclaimed from 4.8 hectares of demolished concrete parking, which surrounds the building’s other sides with native plant species, immersing it in an expanding natural environment. Completing the Honor Awards are two projects located in Mexico City, Rooftop PRIM by PRODUCTORA; PLANTA and DL1310 Apartments by Young & Ayata, plus the Pollinators Pavilion by Harrison Atelier in the Projects category that seeks to elicit awareness from the farming, cultural and educational communities in the Hudson Valley for the vital role of native pollinators in supporting our ecosystems.
The Merit Awards include architecture like New York Public Library Van Cortlandt Branch by Andrew Berman Architect, Boulder House by atelierjun, National Museum of the United States Army by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill with AECOM, Yale University Tsai Center for Innovative Thinking by WEISS/MANFREDI, Rhode Island School of Design Student Center by WORKac, and 6 Square House by Young Projects with Coen+Partners. The Merit Awards in the Interiors category are Yingliang Stone Natural History Museum by Atelier Alter Architects, New York Public Library Macomb’s Bridge Branch by Michielli + Wyetzner Architects and LMCC’s Arts Center at Governors Island by Pei Cobb Freed & Partners; Adamson and AAI. In the Urban Design category, the Merit Award went to St. John’s Park by Ballman Khapalova, reclaiming a traffic circle at the entry to Manhattan as a park that people can actually use. The River Ring urban design project by BIG - Bjarke Ingels Group; James Corner Field Operations received a citation in this category for providing connectivity between the city and the waterfront. The LAND Community Center by EID Architecture; ZHOYU and GZ.S.P.I. LANDSCAPE DESIGN CO., LTD also received a citation for the “Formal Exuberance of the Exterior”.
The 24 winning projects and architecture studios that designed them represent the outstanding work of AIA New York members and architects operating in New York City, which always looks to the future. The jury members were Marlon Blackwell, Julie Eizenberg, Stephen Gray, Andrea Love (Payette), Maria Paz de Moura Castro, and the Italian architect Francesca Perani, founder of Francesca Perani Enterprise and co-founder & president of RebelArchitette.

Christiane Bürklein

2021 AIANY Design Awards
Images: see captions
01_HONOR_Jones Beach Energy & Nature Center_nARCHITECTS_Michael Moran
02_MERIT_RISD Student Center_WORKac_Bruce Damonte
03_HONOR_Musée Atelier Audemars Piguet _BIG_Iwan Baan
CITATION_LAND Community Center_EID Architecture_Lujing Architectural Photography, Yike Studio, Hu Yijie
HONOR_Bennington College Commons Renovation_ChristoffFinio Architecture_Scott Frances
HONOR_DL1310 Apartments_Young Ayata and Michan Architecture_Rafael Gamo
HONOR_Pollinators Pavilion_Harrison Atelier_Ariane Harrison
MERIT_6 Square House_Young Projects_Alan Tansey, Jamie Gray, Camilo Lopez
MERIT_Boulder House_Atelier Jun_Namgoong Sun
MERIT_LMCC’s Arts Center at Governors Island_Pei Cobb Freed Partners
MERIT_National Museum of the United States Army_SOM_Dave Burk | SOM
MERIT_NYPL Macomb's Bridge Branch_Michielli Wyetzner Architects_Alexander Severin
MERIT_NYPL Van Cortlandt Branch_Andrew Berman Architect_Michael Moran
MERIT_St John's Park_Ballman Khapalova_Ballman Khapalova
MERIT_Yale University Tsai Center for Innovative Thinking_WeissManfredi_Albert Vecerka, Jeff Goldberg
Merit_Yingliang Stone Natural History Museum_Atelier Alter Architects_Atelier Alter Architects
Best of Competition Newark Housing Authority TREC_ikon5 architects_Jeffrey Totaro