Award for Zaha Hadid Architects’ Wangjing Soho

Zaha Hadid Architects,

Jerry Yin, Virgile Simon Bertrand,

Skyscraper, Sport & Wellness, underground,



Zaha Hadid Architects’ Wangjing Soho complex in Beijing has won an engineering award named after Zhan Tianyou, the engineer considered the father of the Chinese railways.

Award for Zaha Hadid Architects’ Wangjing Soho

China’s most important award for engineering and innovation in construction is named after Zhan Tianyou (1861-1919), the engineer considered the father of the Chinese railways. Established in 1999, the award was presented to Zaha Hadid Architects’ Wangjing Soho complex in Beijing this year.

The complex of three slender towers is a virtuous example of the potential of 3D Building Information Modelling (BIM) software and use of advanced technology to limit consumption and improve energy efficiency in buildings. It stands in the centre of Beijing’s Wangjing district, built in the mid-nineties, which soon became the headquarters of the biggest Chinese and international IT and telecommunications companies. Surrounded by a city park, the complex stands in a convenient location for the city’s transport network, close to the highway linking the airport with the city centre and served by metro stations and an interchange. The orientation of the towers, the composition of the volumes and the fluidity of the internal layout are the results of study of the passenger flows created by the transport network.

The Wangjing Soho has won numerous awards, particularly those reserved for tall buildings, including the Emporis Skyscraper Awards 2014 and the Excellence Award presented during the first China Tall Building Awards, promoted by the China International Exchange Committee for Tall Buildings (CITAB) and the Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat (CTBUH).

(Agnese Bifulco)

Architect: Zaha Hadid Architects
Design: Zaha Hadid, Patrik Schumacher
Project Director: Satoshi Ohashi
Project Associate: Armando Solano
Project Team: Yang Jingwen, Christoph Klemmt, Shu Hashimoto, Yung-Chieh Huang, Rita Lee, Samson Lee, Feng Lin, Seungho Yeo, Di Ding, Xuexin Duan, Chaoxiong Huang, Ed Gaskin, Bianca Cheung, Chao-Ching Wang, John Klein, Ho-Ping Hsia, Yu Du, Sally Harris, Oliver Malm, Rashiq Muhamadali, Matthew Richardson Competition Team: Satoshi Ohashi, Christiano Ceccato, Inanc Eray, Ceyhun Baskin, Chikara Inamura, Michael Grau, Hoda Nobakhati, Yevgeniya Pozigun, Michal Treder
Location: Beijing, China

Images courtesy of Zaha Hadid Architects photo by: Jerry Yin, Virgile Simon Bertrand



Stay in touch with the protagonists of architecture, Subscribe to the Floornature Newsletter