Toyo Ito wins the 2013 Pritzker Prize

Toyo Ito, Tadao Ando, Kazuyo Sejima,

Iwan Baan,

Sport & Wellness, Institutions,

Pritzker Architecture Prize, Prize,

The 2013 Pritzker Prize has been awarded to Japanese architect Toyo Ito.

Toyo Ito wins the 2013 Pritzker Prize
Thomas J.Pritzker, president of the Hyatt Foundation, has announced that Japanese architect Toyo Ito is the winner of the 2013 Pritzker Architecture Prize, the world?s most prestigious architecture award.

The awards ceremony will be held on May 29 in Boston, at John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum.
Toyo Ito is the fifth Japanese architect to win the Pritzker Prize. The others were Kenzo Tange in 1987, Fumihiko Maki in 1993, Tadao Ando in 1995, and SANAA Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa architectural studio in 2010.

Lord Palumbo, who chaired the panel of judges of the 2013 Pritzker Prize, explained that the award has been presented to an architect of "unique talent" who has managed to interpret the potential of all the places and projects he has worked on, creating buildings over a career spanning more than 40 years in which innovative concepts are combined with perfect execution.

(Agnese Bifulco)

Images courtesy of Pritzker Prize
Photos: Koji Taki, Tomio Ohashi, Mikio Kamaya Nacasa & Partners Inc., Hiroshi Ueda, Iwan Baan, Ishiguro Photographic Institute,  Fu Tsu Construction Co., Ltd, Daici Ano, Yoshiaki Tsutsui



Stay in touch with the protagonists of architecture, Subscribe to the Floornature Newsletter