Moneo wins the International Religious Architecture Award

Rafael Moneo, Richard Meier, Tadao Ando,

Rome, San Sebastian,


The Iesu Church in San Sebastian (Spain) designed by architect Rafael Moneo has won the 6th International Religious Architecture Award, promoted by the Frate Sole Foundation, Pavia, Italy.

Moneo wins the International Religious Architecture Award

The International Religious Architecture Award aimed at new architecture for Christian worship built worldwide and promoted every four years by the Frate Sole Foundation, Pavia, Italy is now in its sixth edition. The winner of this sixth edition is Rafael Moneo with the Iesu Church in San Sebastian (Spain) who will receive the award in Pavia on 4th October 2016 together with the other winners, architects Thu Huong Thi Vu and Tuan Dung Nguyen who took second place with their KaDon New Parish Church in Don Duong, Vietnam; and the German studio Schulz und Schulz in third place with their new St. Trinitatis Church in Leipzig (Germany).

The jury also gave two special mentions to the Chapel of St. John the Baptist in Berlin, by German studio Brückner & Brückner and the Saint John the Baptist Chapel in Tenerife, Canary Islands by Spanish architect Alejandro Beautel. In past editions the International Religious Architecture Award has been won by architects Tadao Ando (1996) for the renowned Church of the Light in Ibaraki, Japan; Álvaro Siza (2000) for the Church of St. Mary in Marco de Canaveses, Portugal; Richard Meier (2004) for the Jubilee Church in Rome; John Pawson (2008) for the Abbey of Our Lady of Novy Dvur, Czech Republic and Cristian Undurraga (2012) for the Capilla del Retiro, in the Valley of the Andes, Chile.

(Agnese Bifulco)

Images courtesy of the Frate Sole Foundation - Pavia

Il nostro sito web utilizza i cookie per assicurarti la migliore esperienza di navigazione.
Se desideri maggiori informazioni sui cookie e su come controllarne l’abilitazione con le impostazioni del browser accedi alla nostra
Cookie Policy


Stay in touch with the protagonists of architecture, Subscribe to the Floornature Newsletter