Finalists for the RIBA Stirling Prize

Allford Hall Monaghan Morris, Heneghan Peng, Niall McLaughlin Architects,

Sport & Wellness, University,


The six finalists in the 2015 RIBA Stirling Prize were announced on July 16. The United Kingdom's most important prize for architecture is twenty years old this year.

Finalists for the RIBA Stirling Prize

While waiting to find out who is the winner of the 2015 RIBA Stirling Prize, due to be announced on October 15 2015, the six finalists were announced on July 16: Burntwood School by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris, Darbishire Place by Niall McLaughlin Architects, Maggie's Lanarkshire by Reiach and Hall Architects, Neo Bankside by Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners, University of Greenwich Stockwell Street Building by Heneghan Peng Architects and The Whitworth, University of Manchester by MUMA.
The United Kingdom's best-known prize for architecture was established in 1996 as an evolution of a previous award: The Building of the Year Award. The finalists for the RIBA Stirling Prize pass an initial selection phase in which an initial “RIBA Regional Award” is presented, after which a second panel of judges assigns the RIBA National Awards and the final jury selects the finalists and the winner of the RIBA Stirling Prize.
The RIBA Stirling Prize celebrates its twentieth birthday in 2015, and the final event in October will see the participation of the winners of the 19 previous editions.

(Agnese Bifulco)

Images courtesy of RIBA