Finalists for the 2013 RIBA Prize announced

Heneghan Peng, Grafton Architects, Niall McLaughlin Architects, Alison Brooks Architects,

Institutions, Sport & Wellness, Residences,

On July 18 RIBA announced the shortlist of 6 candidates for the 2013 RIBA Stirling Prize; the winner will be announced on September 26.

Finalists for the 2013 RIBA Prize announced

The Royal Institute of British Architects (Riba) has announced the names of the 6 buildings shortlisted for the 2013 RIBA Stirling Prize. For the first time in the history of the award, half of the shortlisted architectural practices are run by women, and 5 out of the 6 finalists are in the running for the prestigious British prize for the first time this year.

The majority of the shortlisted projects are residential constructions, and there are plenty of examples of projects incorporating existing buildings, whether they be reclaimed historical constructions such as the Astley Castle project by Witherford Watson Mann Architects or modern buildings like the '60s era Park Hill project by HawkinsBrown and Studio Egret West.
The existing context is the natural landscape in the plan for the Giant's Causeway visitors? centre in Northern Ireland, designed by Heneghan Peng Architects, an example of land art on a UNESCO heritage site.

The other shortlisted projects are Newhall Be by Alison Brooks Architects; University of Limerick Medical School by Grafton Architects and Bishop Edward King Chapel by Niall McLaughlin Architects.
The winner will be announced at an event scheduled for September 26 at Central Saint Martins, King Cross, designed by Stanton Williams, the winner of the 2012 prize.

(Agnese Bifulco)

Images courtesy of Royal Institute of British Architects



Stay in touch with the protagonists of architecture, Subscribe to the Floornature Newsletter