Aga Khan Award for Architecture winners

Zaha Hadid Architects,

Copenhagen, Denmark, United Arab Emirates,


Award, Retraining,

The winners of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture were announced on October 3; let’s look at how these projects all over the world were covered in Floornature.

Aga Khan Award for Architecture winners

The winners of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2016 were announced at a solemn ceremony held in Abu Dhabi in the United Arab Emirates on October 3. Prizes were awarded to six projects, built in different parts of the world, with equal merit: examples of buildings that successfully respond to the needs and demands of communities where Islam is preponderant. We focus on coverage of the prize-winning projects in Floornature.
The Issam Fares Institute designed by Zaha Hadid Architects is part of the campus of the American Institute of Beirut, Lebanon. A concrete construction which, as Mara Corradi notes, “stands out from its surroundings with a bold identity”. The Superkilen in Copenhagen, designed by BIG (Bjarke Ingels Group) Topotek 1 and Superflex,
the Hutong Children’s Library and Art Centre in Beijing, by Chinese studio ZAO/standardarchitecture/ Zhang Ke, the renovation of a traditional construction, the Cha'er Hutong (tea hutong).
Two projects in Bangladesh won prizes: the Bait Ue Rouf Mosque in Dhaka by architect Marina Tabassum and the Friendship Centre in Gaibandha by Kashef Chowdhury / URBANA.
And to conclude, the Tabiat Pedestrian Bridge in Tehran designed by Diba Tensile Architecture (Leila Araghian, Alireza Behzadi) is more than just a simple infrastructure: it is a true work of architecture, a space that becomes an extension of the two parks it joins.

(Agnese Bifulco)

Images courtesy of Aga Khan Trust for Culture photo by: Barzin Baharlouie; Cemal Emden; Kristian Skeie; Rajesh Vora; Wang Ziling, ZAO, standardarchitecture.


Stay in touch with the protagonists of architecture, Subscribe to the Floornature Newsletter