Zaha Hadid wins the 2014 McKim Medal

Renzo Piano,

Academy, Gallery, Sport & Wellness,

The American Academy in Rome has awarded the 2014 McKim Medal to Zaha Hadid "for her outstanding contributions in the fields of design and architecture".

Zaha Hadid wins the 2014 McKim Medal

This is the second time the McKim Medal has been awarded to an architect: after Renzo Piano, who won the very first prize in 2005, when it was established by the American Academy in Rome, the Medal now goes to another Pritzker Prize winning architect (2004), Zaha Hadid.

The McKim Medal is named after Charles Follen McKim (1847-1909), the architect who founded the American Academy in 1894. The prize is awarded once a year to an artist or academic whose work has made a significant contribution to the arts and the humanities world-wide, and particularly in Italy and the United States. In addition to Renzo Piano, in the past the medal has been awarded to Cy Twombly, Umberto Eco, Franco Zeffirelli, Ennio Morricone, Miuccia Prada, Luigi Ontani, Riccardo Muti and Bernardo Bertolucci.
The medal was specially designed by artist Cy Twombly and made for the 2014 edition by goldsmith and designer Fabio Salini.

(Agnese Bifulco)


Il nostro sito web utilizza i cookie per assicurarti la migliore esperienza di navigazione.
Se desideri maggiori informazioni sui cookie e su come controllarne l’abilitazione con le impostazioni del browser accedi alla nostra
Cookie Policy


Stay in touch with the protagonists of architecture, Subscribe to the Floornature Newsletter