5th edition of the European Award for Architectural Heritage Intervention

Event, Award,

Registration for submissions to the European Award for Architectural Heritage Intervention opened a few days ago. This biennial contest addresses professionals who work in the field of architectural heritage, an area that is becoming increasingly relevant, also in terms of sustainability.

  1. Blog
  2. Events
  3. 5th edition of the European Award for Architectural Heritage Intervention

5th edition of the European Award for Architectural Heritage Intervention The European Award for Architectural Heritage intervention is a biennial contest organized with the support of COAC (Association of Architects of Catalonia) and AADIPA (Association of Architects for the Defence and Intervention in Architectural Heritage). It has opened registration for the 5th edition of this recognition for quality heritage interventions. This is an increasingly hot topic in the contemporary debate as people become more aware of the need to preserve existing buildings not only because of their historical and social value but also because restoration projects make it possible to lower the environmental impact of the design process. This is especially true if we consider the notion of sustainable development focused on reducing carbon emissions. In a framework like this, the many historic buildings in Europe allow us to address the critical issue of sustainability on multiple levels, from architecture in the strict sense to town planning and the landscape. The large number of projects in the past editions effectively demonstrates the magnitude of the topic. They include the famous Cruz y Ortis Arquictectos project for the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam, winner in 2013, through to 51N4E’s Skanderberg Square in Tirana, Albania, which won in 2019.
The award is led by Ramon Calonge, Oriol Cusidó, Marc Manzano and Jordi Portal, architects and members of the Association of Architects for the Defence and Intervention in Architectural Heritage (AADIPA). The fifth edition is even more special because it marks the tenth anniversary of the biennial contest, turning it into an opportunity to showcase the variety of approaches to interventions on the architectural heritage in Europe. On this occasion, any work completed, conducted or published in the European geographical area in the period between 1 January 2014 and 31 December 2020, and which meets the requirements of the award’s 4 categories can be submitted. 
Category A, called Intervention in built heritage, covers all architectural, permanent or ephemeral interventions in architectural properties of heritage interest. Category B focuses on Exterior spaces, encompassing interventions in the historic public space and monumental and cultural landscape environments. Category C is all about Urban planning, namely, all planning work aimed at protecting, preserving, and enhancing architectural heritage. Category D—Disclosure—is also exciting. It goes a step further, to embrace initiatives, activities and actions that aim at disseminating the values of architectural heritage.
Like every year, the official awards ceremony will be held as part of the International Biennial of Architectural Heritage Intervention. This conference is organized by the award management, with the support of the COAC, AADIPA and the Generalitat de Catalunya, and will hold its 5th edition in Barcelona in May 2021. The deadline for registrations is 12 March 2021.

Christiane Bürklein

Find out more: https://www.eu-architecturalheritage.org/
Images: see caption


Stay in touch with the protagonists of architecture, Subscribe to the Floornature Newsletter