The 22 buildings awarded the RIBA Stirling Prize


Riba Stirling Prize, Prize,

The 22nd RIBA Stirling Prize was recently awarded to Hastings Pier by dRMM Architects, but what about its predecessors? Let’s find out more about them in Floornature!

The 22 buildings awarded the RIBA Stirling Prize

Every year since 1996, the Stirling Prize has been presented to a RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) member for making an important contribution to British architecture. The award was actually established before 1996, and for many years it was known as the “Building of the Year” award; since 1996 it has been dedicated to British architect James Stirling (1926-1992). Until 2014 the competition was open to buildings in other European Union countries designed by RIBA member architects, but since 2015 it has been restricted to projects constructed in Great Britain.

Once a year the judges select the winner out of a shortlist of six finalists, the winners of the regional RIBA awards. Here is a list of RIBA Stirling Prize winners, starting with the most recent:

Hastings Pier by dRMM Architects – 2017
Newport Street Gallery by Caruso St John architects – 2016
Burntwood School by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris – 2015
Everyman Theatre by Haworth Tompkins - 2014

​Astley Castle, Warwickshire by Witherford Watson Mann Architects – 2013
Sainsbury Laboratory, University of Cambridge by Stanton Williams – 2012
​Evelyn Grace Academy by Zaha Hadid Architects - 2011

​MAXXI National Museum, Rome, Italy by Zaha Hadid Architects - 2010
Maggie’s West London Centre by Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners - 2009
Accordia, Cambridge by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios, Maccreanor Lavington + Alison Brooks Architects – 2008
Museum of Modern Literature, Marbach am Neckar – Germany by David Chipperfield Architects 2007
New Area Terminal, Barajas Airport - Madrid – Spain by Richard Rogers Partnership + Estudio Lamela for AENA (Aeropuertos Españoles y Navegación Aérea) - 2006
The Scottish Parliament by Miralles Tagliabue EMBT + RMJM – 2005
30 St Mary Axe by Foster + Partners - 2004
Laban Dance Centre by Herzog & de Meuron - 2003
Millennium Bridge by Wilkinson Eyre Architects - 2002
Magna of Wilkinson Eyre Architects - 2001
Peckham Library and Media Centre by Alsop & Störmer - 2000
Natwest Media Centre, Lord's by Future Systems - 1999
American Air Museum by Foster + Partners - 1998
Music School in Stuttgart, Germany by James Stirling, Michael Wilford & Associates - 1997
Centenary Building, University of Salford by Hodder Associates - 1996


Stay in touch with the protagonists of architecture, Subscribe to the Floornature Newsletter