Travel + Leisure Design Award winners announced

Santiago Calatrava, Snøhetta, Herzog & de Meuron, Philippe Starck, Adam D. Tihany,

Madrid, Oslo,

Museums, Hotel, Bar, Restaurants, Sport & Wellness, Landscape,



T+L Design Award 2009: The winners have been announced in the fifth edition, in 15 categories covering all aspects of the experience of travel. From Airports to museums, hotels and luggage.

Travel + Leisure Design Award winners announced The projects selected for the fifth Travel + Leisure Design Award were judged by a prestigious panel of judges including Adam D. Tihany (whose studio has designed restaurant and hotel interiors since 1978), Lisa Phillips (curator of the New Museum of Contemporary Art in New York), Laure Beckelman (who worked for New York's Museum of Arts & Design), Calvin Klein (who has won seven awards from the Council of Fashion Designers of America), Michael Bierut (Pentagram partner and co-founder of designobserver.com), Ewina Von Gal (landscape designer).
This year's Design Champion is Andre Balazs, whose hotels combine "old-school glamour and unfussy modern design".
Winners were selected in various categories: Best travel accessories (Melissa shoes), Best travel gadget, Best Camera, Best Travel Luggage, Best Cultural Space (for the National Opera House in Oslo, by Sn?hetta), Best Restaurant (the Delicatessen in New York City by Anurag Nema of Nema Worshop), Best Museum (Caixaforum Madrid, by Herzog & de Meuron), Best Public Space (TKTS Booth, New York City), Best Small Hotel (Emiliano Lopez & Monica Rivera Arquitectos’ Hotel Aire de Bardenas), Best Bridge (the Jerusalem Light-Rail Train Bridge by Santiago Calatrava), Best Spa (Six Senses Hideaway), Best Retail Space, Puma City, Best Large Hotel (Mama Shelter by Philippe Starck).

Il nostro sito web utilizza i cookie per assicurarti la migliore esperienza di navigazione.
Se desideri maggiori informazioni sui cookie e su come controllarne l’abilitazione con le impostazioni del browser accedi alla nostra
Cookie Policy


Stay in touch with the protagonists of architecture, Subscribe to the Floornature Newsletter