2009 Pritzker Prize awarded to Peter Zumthor

Richard Rogers, Jean Nouvel, Alejandro Aravena, Peter Zumthor, Shigeru Ban, Renzo Piano,


Museums, Sport & Wellness,


After Jean Nouvel (2008), Richard Rogers (2007), Paulo Mendes da Rocha (2006) and Tom Mayne (2005), this year’s Pritzer Architecture Prize goes to Peter Zumthor.

2009 Pritzker Prize awarded to Peter Zumthor In Buenos Aires on May 29 Swiss architect Peter Zumthor will be presented with the bronze metal of the Pritzker Architecture Prize, considered the Nobel Prize of architecture.
Famous for his Vals spa project in Graubunden (Switzerland), built in 1996, Zumthor, aged 67, was chosen for his "talent for combining clear, rigorous thought with a truly poetic dimension", according to Thomas Pritzker, president of the Hyatt Foundation, which has been awarding the prize since 1979.
And so the Pritzker Prize goes to a Swiss architect again, eight years after Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron (2001).
His most recent work is Kolumba Diocesan Museum, which won the Brick Award 08 for brick architecture.
This year’s panel of judges included Lord Peter Palumbo, Alejandro Aravena, Shigeru Ban, Rolf Fehlbaum, Carlos Jimenez, Juhani Pallasmaa, Renzo Piano, Karen Stein and Martha Thorne.

Il nostro sito web utilizza i cookie per assicurarti la migliore esperienza di navigazione.
Se desideri maggiori informazioni sui cookie e su come controllarne l’abilitazione con le impostazioni del browser accedi alla nostra
Cookie Policy


Stay in touch with the protagonists of architecture, Subscribe to the Floornature Newsletter